Cal Poly claims Big West beach volleyball title 3-2 over Hawai’i

Sofia Russo-Anna Maidement win last dual at Flight 5 in 3

Amber Igiede-Brooke Van Sickle win at Flight 1 in 3

Cal Poly wins at Flights 2, 3 & 4 to clinch at 3-0 lead

flight 4 was UH’s Kaylee Glagau-Ihilia Huddleston first loss in three matches today.


Hawai’i loses Set 1 at all flights

Top-seeded Cal Poly edged third-seeded Hawai’i in the championship bracket 3-2 earlier Saturday, the BeachBows’ first loss of the double-elimination Big West beach volleyball tournament at Long Beach, Calif.

It forces a second, and deciding, championship bracket match. Earlier Saturday, Hawai’i handed Cal Poly its first loss of the tournament 3-2. The Mustangs then had to come out of the losers’ bracket, eliminating Long Beach State, 4-1.

Hawai’i won the conference’s first three titles (2016-17-18). Cal Poly won in 2019, the last time the tournament was held.

Same pairings as the first two matches today, with how they fared earlier today

  1. Amber Igiede/Brooke Van Sickle (UH) vs. Emily Sonny/Macy Gordon (CP), teams are 1-1
  2. Pani Napoleon/Jaime Santer (UH) vs. Amy Ozee/Jayelin Lombard (CP), teams are 1-1
  3. Harlee Kekauoha/Kylin Loker (UH) vs. Mariah Whalen/Tia Miric (CP), teams are 1-1
  4. Kaylee Glagau/Ilihia Huddleston (UH) vs. Sam Strah/Eleonore Johansen (CP), UH won both earlier
  5. Sofia Russo/Anna Maidment (UH) vs. Vanessa Roscoe/Josie Ulrich (CP), teams are 1-1