All-Americans: Warriors with 3 on first team, 1 on second team, 1 HM

Complete list:

Congratulations to the five Warriors named to the AVCA All-America teams Monday.

First-team nods to Rado Parapunov, Patrick Gasman and Gage Worsley.

Second-team honors to Colton Cowell.

Honorable mention: Jakob Thelle.

Also named to the first team was BYU setter Wil Stanley (Punahou). Honorable mention to UCSB outside hitter Ryan Wilcox (Punahou).

From UH:

Parapunov and Worsley became the program’s third and fourth players to earn three first-team awards joining Costas Theocharidis (2000-03) – the program’s only four-time, first-team honoree – and Stijn van Tilburg (2017-19).

Superseniors Gasman and Parapunov also each received their fourth mention on the All-America teams. Gasman was honorable mention in 2018 and earned second team honors in 2019 and 2020. Parapunov also received honorable mention honors in 2018 along with his three first-team selections.

Cowell (King Kekaulike) was named to the second team for the second consecutive year while Thelle, , received All-America mention for the first time.

The Player of the Year award will be announced on Wednesday Parapunov, the two-time Big West Player of the Year, is the frontrunner for the award, which has been won by a UH player only three times in program history: Yuval Katz (co-POY 1996) and Theocharidis (2001, 2003).

The five honorees are tied for the most in a single-season in program history along with 2015, 2018, and 2019 teams while the three, first-team selections are tied for the second-most in program history.

Parapunov is among the nation’s leaders in kills per set (4.41 avg.) and points per set (5.24) while Gasman leads Division I-II in hitting percentage (.500) and is sixth in blocks per set (1.22). Worsley ranks 10th nationally in dig per set (2.32) and Thelle is fifth in assists per set (10.63).

The Warriors (15-1) are the top-seed in this week’s NCAA Tournament, which is being held in Columbus, Ohio. UH will face the winner of Tuesday’s match between UC Santa Barbara-Pepperdine in the semifinals on Thursday (11 a.m. HST).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.